About Central Wales

Central Wales comprises the counties of Ceredigion and Powys (R). It is a large area extending from Aberystwyth, on the Cardigan Bay coast, to the English border about 80 km (50 miles) away, and from the Berwyn Hills in the north to the Brecon Beacons and Black Mountains in the south, a distance of more than 100 km (c. 70 miles). We have a long and spectacular coastline, extending from the Dyfi Estuary in the north to Cardigan in the south, in which the folded Lower Palaeozoic rocks are superbly exposed in sea-cliffs (below). Inland we have the vast rolling moorlands of the Cambrian Mountains, largely empty except for sheep, passing southwards into the Brecon Beacons that overlook the northern edge of the South Wales Coalfield.

Llangranog beach, Ceredigion